Wk 6 – Artist Conversation – Blaine Scot Prow

ArtistBlaine Scot Prow

Exhibition: Extrusions

Media: Bristol Paper, Foamcore,

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Maxine Merlino

Website: in the works

Instagram: tiffuts

About Blaine: Blaine is an artist from Orange County. He has lived in the OC his whole life but has always moved to different cities within. Blaine is an undergrad at CSULB and he’s majoring in studio art with an emphasis on graphic design. He was originally going to major in mechanical engineering, then switched to civil engineering before finally deciding on studio art. He used to really enjoy math but then he entered college and the math was not fun anymore. He’s interested in graphic design because it’s more of a design and not so much like art which is mostly free style. Blaine has  been in school for 10 years because he  wasn’t sure what he wanted to major in and because he took some time off to focus on his music career. Sadly, it wasn’t going anywhere so he’s back in school.

Formal Analysis: The pieces in this exhibition were black and white. On a small 12×12′ canvas was a projection of a three-dimensional object from a two-dimensional shape. Each piece looked simple but upon closer inspection, it was obvious that each piece had intricate details. The angles of the shapes were exact and cut neatly.

Content AnalysisBlaine has always been fascinated by geometry. This exhibition is the basis of “projecting three-dimensional objects onto two dimensions. The pieces were the results of his experimenting with folding 2D shapes into 3D ones. With 2D shapes, you can cut or fold any piece and turn it into different types of objects. Blaine has been obsessed with geometry his whole life and now he has a gallery dedicated to his study of it.

My Experience: When I walked into the gallery, I was a little unsure of what I was looking at. I just saw a bunch of black and white shapes on canvases. As I read his description though, I was amazed. In high school, I hated math. I could never fully grasp the concepts. I even ended up having to retake geometry because I didn’t pass the first time. So for me, I was intrigued. I really admire his love for it. It was interesting to see all the shapes I had grown to hate from my math textbooks in a different setup. Rather than trying to use some ridiculous algorithm to find the angles of the shapes on the wall, I was able to simply admire and look on. In the end, I thought the exhibition was really neat.

Leave a Reply

